Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
194 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i'm a dental student and i'm going on rotations in montana on an indian reservation [flathead] this summer [july-august]. i'd like to bring my bike out there.

what's the best way to do this?
- fly the bike with me? i don't have a UCSF license, i only have the collegiate one
- mail the bike?
- forget bringing the bike and rent one while i'm out there?

thanks.

·
Registered
21,832 Posts
Ground transport

maclover said:
i'm a dental student and i'm going on rotations in montana on an indian reservation [flathead] this summer [july-august]. i'd like to bring my bike out there.

what's the best way to do this?
- fly the bike with me? i don't have a UCSF license, i only have the collegiate one
- mail the bike?
- forget bringing the bike and rent one while i'm out there?
You should consider various ground transport options. UPS tends to be pricey, but FedEx gets good reports. DHL and USPS are out there too. And, if they serve the area, using Greyhound or Trailways can be cheap, though unpredictable as far as delivery time. Flying SOMETIMES works for free if you tell the agent that it's "sports equipment" or "a display" but often as not you'll be hit with the $80 (or whatever) charge. If you do a search, you may find some threads on this topic as it has been covered several times.

·
Registered
194 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
how big will the package be?

this would be my first time shipping a bike.

will bike shops let me have one of their bike boxes?
how big will the box be, I have a 56cm specialized bike?

·
Premium Member
10,106 Posts
maclover said:
this would be my first time shipping a bike.

will bike shops let me have one of their bike boxes?
how big will the box be, I have a 56cm specialized bike?
Flying with a bike is not a big deal. Yes, you will have to pay a $50-80 surcharge each way. But, you don't have any time at either end without your bike.