Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I wanted to get into road cycling for a long time now, and when my bike was stolen this winter I decided it was time to get a road bike. I did some basic research and stopped on Trek 1500.

Then, I went to local store and spoke with the sales person there and he basically said if u’re on a tight budget (I am a college student with part-time job), I should go with 1000 instead.
The only differences I see between those bikes are the shifters, wheels and better derailleurs. The sales person said that if properly adjusted, stock 1000 derailleurs would do a great job (unlike all the reviews I read online, which say that front 2203 is terrible and barely functions).

Should I get 1000 now and upgrade wheels/shifters/derailleurs next season when I have more money? Or should I just find some money and get 1500 right away?

Thank You

·
Registered
33 Posts
i would go with the 1500 and will explain ok so my dad has a 1000 05' and i have a 1200 05' the 100 stuff is all sora.... blah its squishy and un responsive. the 1200 stuff is better slightly with tiagra and 105 same wheels though. but then with 1500 i think u then get into ultegra derailleurs and i believe the 05' has a bontrager wheelset? which is way better than any alex wheelset. hope it helps

·
Registered
50 Posts
I bought a Trek 1000 as my first bike. I would suggest it.

I got my bike on sale for $550, I rode it for the entire summer and put 500 miles on it and upgraded (Spec. Allez Elite). I was able to resell for 450 no problem (probably couldve gotten 500). With entry level bikes (especially by trek, for whatever reason) I have found they don't depreciate much... if at all. So if you ride it, get hooked and want to upgrade you can either a) sell it for about the same or b) have a really awesome 2nd bike