Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm a soon to be beginner cyclist. I have been an avid runner for some time - distance and races. I'm in great shape but unfortunately one of my hips isn't, so I'm having total hip replacement surgery next week. After the surgery, when I am able, I'm going to start biking. My brain hurts from researching but I've finally narrowed my choices down to 3 bikes, all 2009 models.

Trek 2.3 (small LBS, personal service, free maintenance for 1 year, LBS at top of my list)
Giant TCR Alliance 1 (larger LBS, not as good personal service but nice and helpful folks, free lifetime adjustments, very good rewards program for frequent buyers)
Specialized Roubaix Compact (larger LBS, not really friendly and reportedly not great to deal with after the sale, nothing free, no discount program)

The components and drive trains are comparable, if not almost the same. I've ridden the A1 and Roubaix but not the Trek, because he didn't have the size I needed but will have one next week, so I will ride it. Of the two I've tested, they both feel great to my untrained self, but I don't know that I could tell much difference yet anyway.

I can get each of these for roughly the same price, so that's not an issue, though the A1 is the cheapest. Based on what I've read in this forum each of these manufacturers stand behind their products. The main differences seem to be the frames. The Trek is a AL/CF mix, the A1 is some sort of AL/CF composite mix that is supposedly different than a standard AL/CF bike, and the Roubaix is a full carbon but seems to be their lower-end carbon in the Roubaix line.

For background. 37 year old, male. 5'8", 155 pounds. I plan on racing down the line and will ride probably between 120-150 mpw.