Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to cycling, and am looking to buy a good new bike for both weekly riding and sprint triathlon training. I do not wish to spend more than $2500, and all my research points to the 2006 Trek 5200 being a solid bike. I took a spin at a LBS, and I was really impressed vs. other models. Could all you smart people provide me some feedback about the benefits and drawbacks of this make and model? How about alternatives? What standard parts might need replaced, and when? What should I be looking for? Unbiased responses please. Thanks in advance!

·
Home Brew User!
2,810 Posts
Lost on the Backroads said:
I am new to cycling, and am looking to buy a good new bike for both weekly riding and sprint triathlon training. I do not wish to spend more than $2500, and all my research points to the 2006 Trek 5200 being a solid bike. I took a spin at a LBS, and I was really impressed vs. other models. Could all you smart people provide me some feedback about the benefits and drawbacks of this make and model? How about alternatives? What standard parts might need replaced, and when? What should I be looking for? Unbiased responses please. Thanks in advance!
Options are endless and will only confuse the situation. Opinions are like....and often meaningless. By all reports the Trek 5200 is a great bike. If you like it and it fits get it and don't look back.

·
Registered
277 Posts
check out the cannondale six13 vs. the trek. I could have gotten a trek for less $$ than my DA 613 but liked the c-dale much better. I've been riding for 20 yrs, raced Cat 1, ridden a lot of bikes - and along w/ every other 613 owner, think it's the best bike I've ever ridden.

(Everybody and their brother has a trek too - they score very low on style points)

·
Windrider (Stubborn)
22,021 Posts
Just be careful of the geometry......