Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm torn and looking for some advice - I'm new to road but have always wanted to ride. I've spent a good many years on mountain bikes but finally ready to spend some money to jump in after saving.

I've looked a the 2013 6.2 Trek Madone and Domane. I thought I was in for the Madone when I road a 2013 Cervelo r5 and just about fell in love. The Domane and Madone are about $4500 but the Cervelo is netting about $5300. I know it's crazy money and a little absurd but I don't want to buy again; I'm a bigger fan of a one time buy than buy and upgrade.

I know, from reading, that Trek has a bit of a bad rap - in part for being good at marketing beyond the cycling-base, and in part b/c others thinks for the money you can score a better ride. I've also ready that Cervelo, some say, make a subpar for cost bike - is the R5 right in that mix?

The Treks have Ultegra. The Cervelo is SRAM Red.

I'm 36, new to the sport but ready to ride all the time. I'm about 5' 10", 170 in really good shape. I want to ride the Colorado classics (Ride the Rockies, triple bypass) so I'm searching for a longer ride bike but I really want to climb too (lungs are a bit weak at it right now) and enjoy the challenge of going up.

What's the general feedback on these rides? I honestly like all of them but maybe I don't know exactly how to tease out the final pros and cons of each - what do people think?

And, if you had an option on a 2012 Trek Madone 6.7 for the same cost as the 2013 Cervelo R5 which would you prefer?

Thanks so much for spending any degree of time on my needs.

·
Registered
212 Posts
I own neither, but have read a bunch about both. I seem to hear more about Cervelo frame issues than Trek frame issues... If I bout one of the two it would be a Trek..