Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm thinking about spreading the rear of the frame to accomodate newer wheels, I'm new to the sport.. I love my trek 770 but would like to upgrade it a little..
my question is..
Lets say I do the spacing and I can fit a 130mm hub with a new cassette, I have super record components on it now.. will I have to change my whole derailleur or can I just find a cassette that will work?
what other trouble could I have? thanks for any help..
I included two photos

·
Registered
11,555 Posts
Before spreading anything, try to just put the new wheel in and see how it goes. I rode my ancient 7-speed Pinarello with a 10-speed wheel for about a year with zero problems. Sold the frame to someone who was glad I didn't spread the stays. As to the shifting: I used friction downtube shifters and it was all good.

·
Registered
1,541 Posts
^ what he said. I had a old Reynolds-steel Trek frame and had no problem fitting a modern hub in the rear. No stretching necessary. Nothing got whacked out of true.

Don't know about the derailleur issue as I switched out to a newer 9spd cassette and derailleur at the same time.

·
Cycling induced anoesis
13,019 Posts
wim said:
Before spreading anything, try to just put the new wheel in and see how it goes. I rode my ancient 7-speed Pinarello with a 10-speed wheel for about a year with zero problems. Sold the frame to someone who was glad I didn't spread the stays. As to the shifting: I used friction downtube shifters and it was all good.
+1. I've had two steel frames that I simply spread the dropouts 2mm's each side and dropped the hub in. Rode the bikes for many years with zero problems.

·
Registered
4,621 Posts
How can you be new to the sport and own a Trek 770? That frame is at least 20 years old. I should know; my CURRENT bike sports a Trek 660 frame.

The frame can readily be spread to the 130mm dimension; it's what I did to my frame.