Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to road cycling coming off from MTB. After test-riding all kinds of bikes, including Cannondale Caad 10 5, I narrowed down my list to two Trek Madones, 2.1 and 3.1. Noticeable difference between the two is the frame. The 2.1 is aluminum and 3.1 is carbon fiber. Both bikes come with Shimano 105 components except for the crankset, cassette and brake calipers. Price is $1050 on the 2.1 and $1500 on the 3.1.
I already purchased shimano 105 spd sl pedals and road bike shoes.
Is the carbon frame worth the $450 difference? If I go either way I will want to upgrade to a Di2 bike in about a year. For this reason 2.1 model seems more appealing as I can put the $450 into a fancier bike down the road.
What would you do?

·
Registered
366 Posts
I'd get the nicer bike now. Enjoy it then upgrade. ....but this is coming from someone who owns the Madone 6.2. :)

·
Too slow to be smart
506 Posts
If they feel similar to you when you ride, save the money. You're going to need it when you buy a Di2 bike...Or, buy the 2.1 and give me the $450 :) Why buy a lower model now when you know you're going to buy a $4k+ bike in a year? Why not go for the moon now?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
If they feel similar to you when you ride, save the money. You're going to need it when you buy a Di2 bike...Or, buy the 2.1 and give me the $450 :) Why buy a lower model now when you know you're going to buy a $4k+ bike in a year? Why not go for the moon now?
Thanks. I want to explore the world of road cycling and see if I really want to invest all that money. Two years ago I spent lots of $ on tennis gear and only ended up playing 4 times. For fitness, circuit training satisfies almost all of my needs. Cycling is going to be a cardio workout to supplement my circuit training.