Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
766 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I thought I would post this here and see if anyone has any expert insight.

I just can't seem to get comfortable on my current road frame (a Trek 2300 frame).

I have been measured with fit kit, etc.. and I know the fitting was done well but it was not done for this bike. I'm not sure what the heck is going on but I was very comfortable on the original bike the fitting was done for (Giant TCR) but even if I set this bike up exactly the same I can't seem to get it right.

My only real fit "issue" of note is I have repeatedly given myself tendonitis in my right knee. If my saddle is too low I will begin feeling knee discomfort quite quickly. We are talking 7-9mm too low and I can feel it. I've been riding for 6 years, at this point I'm hypersensitive to saddle height. Otherwise I'm in good shape and I have good flexibility.

However at the same time *on this frame* I have a very hard time with saddle comfort when I have the saddle at the proper height to make my knees (and power output) correct.

Any guide on what little things I can try? I've tried quite a few saddles and they don't seem to matter. Lowering tire pressure definitely helps within reason, but not enough, and I am not an extreme "high pressure" guy, I usually run around 112-115psi.

Is there any rule "if you feel this", "move this" when it comes to the saddle? e.x. with the saddle level I feel too much pressure from the nose of the saddle when I'm in the drops, should I raise or lower the front of the saddle to shift my weight back onto the sitbones?

I didn't like having a super expensive bike but I was so comfortable on the Giant I had it makes me wish I had never sold it. I've been mucking around with the fit very carefully on my Trek for 2 years now and it never seems to get to that magic comfort zone.

· Alien Musician
4,542 Posts