Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
544 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm doing a century (as I do every year) in September. Big deal. Except THIS year, my new girlfriend is doing one the next day. Being that I kind of encouraged her, I feel compelled to be her pace-boy.

The first one will be a steady 18 mph century with a buddy. With GF, it will be a 14 mph ride. Not a problem speedwise, but I have no experience at two centuries in a row.

Should I do anything special to prepare, like do two long rides consecutively every week, instead of one? Will that prepare my buns for the abuse in six weeks? Looking forward to the challenge. But not the PAIN!.

·
Registered
337 Posts
A really comfy set of bibs will help. After your first century, eat a bunch of protein for recovery and carbs for the rest of the day to replenish your glycogen stores, and fill up the tank for the next day. Rest, recover, stay off your feet, etc.

If you routinely do some pretty long hard rides, your legs should be able to do it, especially if the next ride is slower.

To be honest, the next day is going to hurt your ass for the first 5 miles or so. Just try to ease the pressure onto the saddle. Start with most of your weight on your hands and feet, then gradually let yourself onto the saddle over the course of a few miles. After you're settled in and moving, you won't feel any different than the day before.

Doing two long consecutive rides won't really make that big of a difference.

Bottom line: After century #1, rest and refuel, and ease yourself into century #2.

·
Registered
544 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yeah, I ride enough to not be worried about the actual doing of century #2. The nutrition and rest after century #1? Check.

And, I always do a 20 to 25 mile recovery ride after any century, the next day, So I know very well what sitting on the bike the next day feels like.