Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

· Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, i asked a while ago whether the univega viva sport would be worth while for a project bike. After a while of searching and tracking down parts I have finally been able to throw what I have together. And now, as I promised, I will show what the project turned out as. Note, I am new to this so please don't start your comments with "you idiot," rather just "why.":thumbsup:

· trying to HTFU...
1,910 Posts
cool...

...that's gnarly!(in a good way) - i was contemplating fix-ating my
old specialized cirrus(currently frame only), but i've decided to
save my pennies for my next ride. i'm also afraid my meagre bike
skills will cause me more pain than i can handle if i try out a fixie.
i can't track-stand.

· On your left!
1,301 Posts
Nice, nice job...

I'd say you did a first rate job.

Are you running different size wheels, 27 front and 700 rear? What did you do with the rear? Did you buy a track wheel or use a converted screw on freewheel hub?

Do an update once you take it out for a 20 -30 miler. I ride fixies on a some what regular basis. Just this past Saturday after cresting a hard climb I tried to coast....OOOPS!!

Just watch out for that.

· Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Sorry, I should have given a little detail about what the bike has on it.
I got the bike with the original Dia-compe (I am not sure what model they are right now) brake calipers, Sugino Mighty cranks, Sunshine (or Sunsin) hubs and rims, no-name stem and seat-post. I bought a new Sugino flip-lop rear wheel on sale at the LBS that was already built up and sitting next to the register (yes it is a 700c wheel with a 27" front wheel), Nashbar brand handlebars and brake lever, and added an old Brooks B-17 narrow. The gear ratio is 42-16.