Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello weight weinies :)

I've got a very large frame (68/69) steel road bike I bought on eBay. It says Fuji Sport 12 on the frame.

I'm new to cycling and got the bike because I'm 6' 7" (215lbs) and didn't want to spend thousands (yet) on a custom frame, evidently back in the 80's their were a lot more sizes available. (The bike has a green Belittle Bicycles sticker from it's original sale in NY City, I bought it from a dealer in Dallas, TX) I'm now training for a triathlon in May, so this will be my beginner tri bike.

Are there practical (affordable, I paid $199 for the bike) things I could change on the bike that would lighten it's current 33lbs, or make it easier to ride? Any aero stuff?

My first thought on this was to buy new current components for the bike that I would later move to a custom frame. But this idea was shot down in a tri forum because evidently all the new stuff uses different size standards. Then I thought maybe there might be a supply of the high-end old stuff that would fit the bike and be cheap because no one uses those sizes anymore?

For instance, I found a set of 27" Mavic MA2 wheels with quick release hubs (mine dont' have quick release) that would fit. Would this be much of an upgrade over the stock wheels?

Thanks, any thoughts from the experts would be appreciated, I've attached at text file with all the specs I know.

Damon

·
Banned
2,767 Posts
Damon L said:
My first thought on this was to buy new current components for the bike that I would later move to a custom frame. But this idea was shot down in a tri forum because evidently all the new stuff uses different size standards. Then I thought maybe there might be a supply of the high-end old stuff that would fit the bike and be cheap because no one uses those sizes anymore?