Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,
I'm new here and I'm looking for some advice about upgrading my current ride. A little about me: I'm 6'4" and weigh around 275#. I've been riding for about 6 months. I have a 2012 Giant Defy 5, and I ride about 20 miles a week when the weather is good. I'd like to ride more, but I'm not able to ride every day. I like my bike, but my complaints are as follows:
the shifts are crappy
the front wheel seems ccreaky the rear cassette also seems creaky and loud, and doesn't shift well
im not in love with the STI shifters.

So I'd like to do some upgrades on my bike, but I'm not sure where to begin. I'm thinking of an initial $500 budget for parts, most of the work I can do myself. What ideas do you all have?
Thanks a bunch.

·
Cranky Old Bastard
2,337 Posts
You need to be a little more specific as to what you don't like about the bike; what areas do you really want to upgrade?
I'm sure you realize that your size limits what you should do. Many of the "upgrades" are lighter and possibly not as strong as what you have now. Wheels, for example.

And it is easy to spend more on upgrades than the bike may be worth. Sometimes it is better just to buy a new bike with better components.

But I can relate to your shifting problems. My bike has 2303 components and I'm changing them out.
Your shifters, cassette, and chain have to match but your derailleurs will work with upgrades.

The next step up is Sora 9-speed. They don't have the "buttons" that many don't like. New shifters, C&C should be around $200+ and make sure you get 2012+ because the older set is like your 2300.
Tiagra 10-speed is next and what most would probably recommend. About $280 to upgrade and again, get the latest 10-speed and not the older 9.
You could obviously keep going up the ladder but probably wouldn't notice any big improvement in performance.