Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Have any Grey Poupon????
223 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i have a 2010 allez sport 49cm. im 5'8 with what the LBS called " crazy short legs".hahaha.
Anyways, i am 225lbs, and slowly but steadily decreasing. i've got an athletic build, although still about 30lbs overweight.

I've decided i want to upgrade in the near future, however im caught up as to whether i should buy a decent 4 to 5 hundred dollar wheelset with carbon bar,stem,seatpost and all or if i should just trade in my allez and buy a tarmac. The reason i listed my weight is because i know most carbon has a " weight limit."

i was also looking into the cervelo s1, it looks like a pretty legit bike which is light and comes with ultegra components.

My main concern is about carbon, i have no experience with it, and im kinda nervous about upgrading to it. any help advice or suggestions is greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
35 Posts
I wouldn't be worried about carbon with your weight. You can get an entry level Tarmac for around 2k and you'll have that in your Allez once it's all said and done.

Go for the Tarmac!

·
Cycling induced anoesis
13,006 Posts
jeeper006 said:
i have a 2010 allez sport 49cm. im 5'8 with what the LBS called " crazy short legs".hahaha.
Anyways, i am 225lbs, and slowly but steadily decreasing. i've got an athletic build, although still about 30lbs overweight.

I've decided i want to upgrade in the near future, however im caught up as to whether i should buy a decent 4 to 5 hundred dollar wheelset with carbon bar,stem,seatpost and all or if i should just trade in my allez and buy a tarmac. The reason i listed my weight is because i know most carbon has a " weight limit."

i was also looking into the cervelo s1, it looks like a pretty legit bike which is light and comes with ultegra components.