Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a late 1980's Cannondale 3.0 that I've been riding for a couple of years. It has 12 speeds (2 chainrings and 6 speed cassette). The area where I ride has a lot of short steep hills and I find I'm always running out of gears and that I'm slower than most of my riding friends going uphill.

My questions is: can I upgrade this old bike with a new 8 or 9 speed cassette and would that make much of a difference? What else would need replacing (rear dereailuer?).

· Registered
2,651 Posts
Just go out and buy a compact crank from FSA or someone like that. They cost about 100bucks and will give you a good climbing gear. I did that with my old 2.8 cannondale with the 8 speed cassette and gained a lot of climbing efficiency. If you're tallking cassette and all that, then it's time to buy a new ride.

· Registered
659 Posts
popentx said:
I have a late 1980's Cannondale 3.0 that I've been riding for a couple of years. It has 12 speeds (2 chainrings and 6 speed cassette). The area where I ride has a lot of short steep hills and I find I'm always running out of gears and that I'm slower than most of my riding friends going uphill.

My questions is: can I upgrade this old bike with a new 8 or 9 speed cassette and would that make much of a difference? What else would need replacing (rear dereailuer?).

I might as well say it..

....convert it to a SS hipster commuter.

simple and light.

flame away.

· Registered
180 Posts
BrianU said:
Not 100% on this, so someone might want to back me up on this, but I am pretty sure an 8 or 9 speed cassette will not fit on a 6 speed freehub.

Brian