Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Have any Grey Poupon????
223 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i have a 2010 allez sport 49cm. im 5'8 with what the LBS called " crazy short legs".hahaha.
Anyways, i am 225lbs, and slowly but steadily decreasing. i've got an athletic build, although still about 30lbs overweight.

I've decided i want to upgrade in the near future, however im caught up as to whether i should buy a decent 4 to 5 hundred dollar wheelset with carbon bar,stem,seatpost and all or if i should just trade in my allez and buy a tarmac. The reason i listed my weight is because i know most carbon has a " weight limit."

i was also looking into the cervelo s1, it looks like a pretty legit bike which is light and comes with ultegra components.

My main concern is about carbon, i have no experience with it, and im kinda nervous about upgrading to it. any help advice or suggestions is greatly appreciated.

·
Banned
1,317 Posts
carbon will make you salivate. it certainly did for me upgrading from my aluminum road bike from 2009 to 2010 LOOK carbon. It absorbed all those small road vibrations that would rattle your aluminum frame. my cousin rides a Tarmac from 2010 and he loves it. its racing Geo so it gives him a good reason to go fast. My carbon bike is relaxed geometry which allows me to be more comfortable after 50 miles.

go ride a high end aluminum bike, then go ride any carbon bike that works. You'll feel the material eating up the bumps immediately.

·
Have any Grey Poupon????
223 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
i'll look into the carbon then, coming from an old schwinn bike to the allez i was amazed, so im figuring going from the allez to the tarmac should be the same feeling. do you think that being at 225 pounds will pose any threat to the carbon frame and seat post and all????

·
Banned
1,317 Posts