Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2,076 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know a bit about road bikes but nothing about cross or mountain. I'd like to pick something up that I can ride off-road and on reasonably non-technical trails. I don't think I want to make the plunge over to mountain. Will a cross bike fit my limited purposes? If so, any particular favorites? Thanks for your help.

·
Registered
8,116 Posts
I moved to a mountain region, and buying a mountain bike was the best purchase I've made recently (well, if you don't count the house and car... but you get the idea). I believe that 80% of my mtn bike riding could be done adequately on a cross bike, but that is because my skills are not that great yet, and I find myself exploring more and more technical areas. Also, I am still learning the area, and finding more and more trails that fit my ability level. Eventually I will be getting more of its potential out of it.

rcnute said:
I know a bit about road bikes but nothing about cross or mountain. I'd like to pick something up that I can ride off-road and on reasonably non-technical trails. I don't think I want to make the plunge over to mountain. Will a cross bike fit my limited purposes? If so, any particular favorites? Thanks for your help.

·
100% torqued
766 Posts
Yeah a cross rig is great for non-technical trail riding. Technical means essentially difficult which is also relative. Something like a Surly Cross check is better in rougher off road terrain than say a more traditional Euro-style bike. The Cross Check takes big tires, Up to 45c. More tradidional rigs top out at 35's. I have seen the Surly used in terrain that would trouble me on a MTB by better riders than me. Any cross bike would serve for fire road riding or on really smooth trails. I like the Surly.

·
Registered
2,229 Posts