Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 62 Posts

· Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to cycling and have only been riding about 2 months. It initially began because being that im in college i drink a bit of beer and was noticing a little weight gain. Im not a big fan of running and recently broke my ankle last fall playing soccer so i was looking for something low impact but fun, which led me to cycling.
My dad owns a early 1990s hybrid scott. its been left in the rain a few seasons but it rides okay. i rode on my own for awhile but after speaking with the local bike store after a tune up i began riding with the local cycling club. i then got my friend hooked on it and he ordered a Gavin Nuovo which he is happy with.

and now on to the purpose of this thread.

ive been reading the forum for a few weeks now and can only imagine the response this will get (i presume humorous). i ordered the vilano tuono for $260 and a set of $50 aerobars (my fathers bike has a set of neon green ones and i liked the lounging option). this was sort of an impulse buy and went ahead and ordered it. in anticipation for its arrival, which is tomorrow, i did further research; although i would hardly call the initial inquiry research. i have since discovered nothing but negative things about the bike. although i am sure it will be an upgrade from my current bike, im not sure how long ill ride it.

since there is virtually no material on here from someone who's actually touched the bike, i thought i would start a thread and let you all know how it is. obviously it wont be the most educated opinion since im new to this and cant really tell the difference from one brand of components to the next. luckily, my father does have a friend who was a bike mechanic so it will at least be set up properly. worst case scenario if im not pleased with the bike ill probably ride it for a few months, sell it on craigslist and buy the montobecane grand record from BD.