Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 65 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to road bikes! Initially I was looking for a decent commuter bike and came across this article about hand built Canadian bikes Maple Leaf Bikes - Canadian Bike Builders - La Bicycletta and I was hooked! I grabbed an old Miele off CL (C$420) Bicycle tire Tire Wheel Bicycle frame Bicycle wheel rim which I'm pretty pleased with. It's full Campy except for the stem/bar/brake levers, i'm just about to grab new wheels and tires, I need to make the gearing a little more hill friendly, and I might switch to integrated shifters. Really I want it to ride like a modern rig but have a bit of class as well. Silly I know… I'm having my LBS build the wheels on the old campy hubs and am not sure how to proceed otherwise. I just saw this Vintage Mens' Garlatti Racing Road Bike, Campagnolo(Italy) on CL and was wondering if it's worth grabbing bikes like this to get the old camagnolo parts or if they're pretty common stuff. I look forward to your constructive input!

Cheers!

·
Registered
314 Posts
It's a beauty. Getting it on the road would be sweet.

I worry, though, that for each thing you try to upgrade (you mention gearing and shifters) you are going to get caught in an old/new compatibility problem. Sometimes its hard to upgrade one item without almost stripping the bike down to the frame and starting over. Before you change anything, I suggest you research the possibilities and plan your final result.

·
Registered
14,713 Posts
My advice would be to clean it up, replace nothing but tires and brake pads, overhaul, lube and adjust, and just ride it. Upgrading parts is a money pit. You will quickly spend more money than the bike is worth.

Is there something seriously wrong with the rims? If not, I can't imagine why it would make sense to re-build the wheels. True them up if necessary, and ride.