Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Biking World,

I am a high school student who is working on an engineering project to fix the problem of visual awareness and safety of bikers. I compiled a list of questions that are related to the issue in order to give me a statistical analysis of how to solve my problem. The link to the survey is below. Thank You.

https://docs.google.com/a/k12.friscoisd.org/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSda9anaHH1lKVbM_7xqgN3GqEhOvl-KfhijXVekcSTh1goGGw/viewform

Sincerely,

James

·
Registered
2,346 Posts
Took the survey, but you're likely to get more responses if you can set up a survey that doesn't require logging in (google docs).

Also (and may be too late for you), the question: "How often do your ride" should really have an answer between "Daily" and "Weekly" - I'd guess everyone on this forum rides less than 7 days/week, but more than 1 day/week.

Good luck with your project!

·
Russian Troll Farmer
3,420 Posts
tl;dr

Really, about every 2 months, another one of you comes along, then disappears. Excuse me if I'm not the least bit interested in taking your poorly thought-out survey. I've got better things to do with my time.

·
Banned
2,075 Posts
Bikes shouldn't have to share the road with cars. It's an unfair fight.
Cars outweigh us by a Lot!

I don't think visual aides will prevent someone from Texting and drifting
onto the shoulder where we ride.

Also, the speed differences are huge.

It's risky business.

·
Registered
727 Posts
Until we have a system like Copenhagen which is separate streets and signals, we are sharing the pavement with people who are driving 1 ton vehicles and looking at information screens while they do it. Even if you didn't have a smart phone your new car comes with a information screen in the middle of the dashboard that can distract your attention. As someone else has been saying, the system is rigged. To correct it you must change the system.

·