Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I'm new to Tubulars - but have successfully glued a set of the above named tyres to my new wheels. I followed the instructions in Zinn's book - part of his instructions were to remove the latex layer from the tyre's base tape. I did this - but it took me several hours to do both tyres. My LBS said I was mad to even try - so, do others bother with this step?

Thanks,

Scallops

· Registered
11,555 Posts
remove the latex layer from the tyre's base tape
While this was standard advice back in the days, it was usually taken to mean that excess base tape glue should be removed by rubbbing it with a wrench handle, piece of dowel rod, or something similar. Tire manufacturers sometimes applied too much glue between the tire and the base tape, making it ooze up in patches through the fabric to the base tape surface. Removing that excess ooze was supposed to make sure that the tire-to-rim cement adhered to every square millimeter of the base tape fabric. That was the theory.

In practice, hardly anyone ever bothered when preparing wheels for road racing. But track riders were much more concerned about rolling a tire after a blow-out, so a lot of them did rub their base tapes before glueing the tire. In those days, many layers of shellac were used to glue track tires, so an hour spent rubbing the base tape was not much of an effort in relation to the entire procedure.

· Banned forever.....or not
24,573 Posts
On a new CX, I'll probably scrape for 3 or 4 minutes. Even if it's not needed, it makes me feel a little safer. I just use a metal ruler. In the same way, I'll probably apply a total of three thin coats of glue to the tire and rim (if it's a new rim)

G

·
I inflate the tire partially and scuff the base tape with an 80 or 100 grit sandpaper. 2 or three minutes of light pressure.

All it takes.

· Arrogant roadie.....
4,232 Posts
Scallops said:
Hello,