Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought myself a road bike, and I am a Clyde. The bike I bought has theses tires on it, and they are gray in color. After doing some research, I found that at my weight (245), I really need to be on something like a 25. These Tricomps are 23C.

By the way, what does the C mean behind 700?

I have not even ridden the bike, and the tires look to be in great shape. However, I have no idea how to measure the wear. I will probably stick them on ebay, and try to move them so I can put the money towards getting some Continental Gatorskins in 25. I just don't know what to ask for them or if they even have any value. They look to be pretty expensive new.

I've been MTB'g for years, but I'm just getting into road riding and trying to learn all I can.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm concerned about flats. I don't exactly have smooth pavement to ride on. Most of the roads I'll be on are a mix between old slag roads with occasional potholes and the cement from the drive around my work. There are some places of loose gravel as well. I will avoid as much as possible and try to stay on the smooth stuff, but I don't want my tires to become an issue. Flats are not something I really want to deal with either, because most of my riding will be around my work during my lunch break. I will be traveling away from my work in my alotted lunch time and don't want to end up stranded an late getting back.

·
Registered
9,666 Posts
Hard to imagine someone selling a used bike and not keeping those tires for themself if they were hardly worn....but if that's the case you'll want to take really good/clear pictures proving it to get any meaningful amount for them.
They are very good tires....but used tires from a stanger on the internet is a tough sell. Wouldn't want to guess a price. I'd probably pay $40 a pari is I had 100% proof they were in great shape.

·
Registered