Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My rear Open Corsa 320 tpi just got retired this afternoon. Too many cuts and it was blowing up tubes left and right. Almost made it to 1000 miles. I want to try something that is just as light and fast ( cause the corsa's spoiled me with the speed ) and it looks like a good candidate may be Vredstein's Fortezza tricomp ? What about the Conti GP 4000?

Anyone have experience with both?

Appreciate it.

Mike

·
Registered
28 Posts
Hi Tanner, I've been riding the FTC's for 5 years and won't ride anything else. I'm 6'3 and 205 so I like the fact that you pump them up to 160psi ! But seriously, I've had very good luck with
no flats, the prs technology works pretty good. I tried the Conti 3000 GP's and wasn't impressed, so I haven't tried the 4000's either. The mileage for the FTC's is about what you'd expect for a performance clincher. 2K - 3K. Hope this helps.:thumbsup:

·
Registered
192 Posts
I used Open Corsas last year (290TPI version). The were very fast, rode A+, but wore
quickly and cut easily. This year I am using the FTC. The ride is also superb, perhaps
just a micron less so than the Corsa, they seem a bit more durable, although they are
very slightly heavier. Differences start getting pretty minute and hard to quantify at this
level.

·
Registered
2,273 Posts
I too am riding the FTC's and am very happy with them. I weigh close to 250 so I appreciate the fact that I can pump them up to 145psi. What I really appreciate about them is that they are very easy to mount on my Velocity rims.

·
Perpetual Three
677 Posts
Another option to the GP4000 is the GP Attack/Force combo. Its similar to the 4000 tires, still Black Chili, Vectran, and all that. I'm surprised I don't see it mentioned more.