Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

This is my very first post. I have been using spinning classes to get the pounds off. I have taken off 25 so far and feel great. I would like to buy a road bike to "take the show on the road". There are many riders in my class that have been riding for a few years and have some really nice bikes. I do not think I am ready to shell out $1800- $2500 on a bike and I am just getting started and need to make sure this is what I really want to do.

I am 5'11", 185 pounds with pretty long arms. I live in Central NY state so our season is short. My plan was to obtain advice on preferred manufacturers, key components etc from this website. I was then going to check out my local bike shop for my size and proper fit. From there, if a bike was available at a good discount from the dealer, I would pick it up. The other route was to look for a pre-owned bike with all the right components once I have narrowed it down to my preferred manufacturer/model.

The one thing that I hear the riders in my class say is "Do not skimp on your bike/components". I want quality in both bike and components but I am just getting started so I do not want to take out a home equity loan to get my first bike. All advice is appreciated.

·
Registered
79 Posts
I think this is one of the hardest situations for a new rider.
Because you are going to get a ton of "advice" :eek:
Some will be worthy some will be irrelevant, and for a new cyclist
you will not be able to distinquish between the two.

My best 'advice' would be for you to start reading some cycling magazines,
specifically, reviews of entry-level and one step above entry-level type bikes.
Read some books on the hardware and componentry of modern road bikes.
Learn about Shimano and Campy components, learn about the different components
on a typical road bike. In the beginning, it seems foreign and even complicated.