Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

· Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I've been riding for almost 2 years now and have gotten more and more hooked. I bought a used '04 specialized allez sport to start off, and have gotten to the point now where I want to start upgrading the components. Would love a new bike (like everybody else would) but I can't justify the price.

So here's the stock component list, what would be the most bang for my buck to upgrade (as far as weight/performance goes). I'm currently borrowing a buddy's old (heavy) shimano road pedals and am about to buy some keo sprints. I was also thinking I wanted to go from a triple ring crank set to a double. Any advice is extremely appreciated

HEADSET Intellaset, 1 1/8" integrated threadless, alloy cap, alloy cone spacers and washer
STEM Specialized Pro, 3D forged alloy, 31.8mm bar clamp, 4- position adjustable
HANDLEBARS Specialized Pro, racing drop, 31.8mm diameter
TAPE / GRIPS Body Geometry, thin Bar Phat, black cork ribbon
FRONT BRAKE Dual pivot, forged alloy, w/ multi-condition pads (no name brand)
REAR BRAKE Dual pivot, forged alloy, w/ multi-condition pads (no name brand)
BRAKE LEVERS Shimano Tiagra, STI
FRONT DERAILLEUR Shimano Tiagra, 31.8mm clamp
REAR DERAILLEUR Shimano New 105, long cage
SHIFT LEVERS Shimano Tiagra, STI, flight deck compatible
CASSETTE Shimano Tiagra, 9-speed, 12x25t
CHAIN Shimano HG 73
CRANKSET Specialized Comp, five arm, polished arms
CHAINRINGS 52Ax42Ax30S
BOTTOM BRACKET Shimano BB-UN-25, square taper, 68mm shell, 118mm spindle
PEDALS Composite body, alloy cage, Cr-Mo axle
RIMS Alex AT-400, 700c, double wall alloy, machined sidewalls
FRONT HUB Specialized, 28 hole, forged alloy, double seals, alloy QR
REAR HUB Specialized, 32 hole, forged alloy, cassette, double seals, alloy QR
SPOKES DT Swiss, 2.0mm (14g) stainless, black, alloy nipples, L282/R282mm front, L293/R291mm rear
SEAT POST Specialized carbon fiber, 27.2x350mm