Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was riding into town and a bus almost hits me, i was going down the road and he was in the bus lane stationary so i go past him then look back to turn right to make sure its safe then i look ahead again then start to turn right as I'm turning right i hear a horn the bus was trying to over take me so i swerve left and i was shaking as im not experienced on a road and I'm only 15 i only bought my bike a week ago and just wanted to know the driver also looked at me as if i was some idiot on the road when I'd like to think of myself as responsible thanks and opinions appreciated.

·
Cycling induced anoesis
13,006 Posts
I was riding into town and a bus almost hits me, i was going down the road and he was in the bus lane stationary so i go past him then look back to turn right to make sure its safe then i look ahead again then start to turn right as I'm turning right i hear a horn the bus was trying to over take me so i swerve left and i was shaking as im not experienced on a road and I'm only 15 i only bought my bike a week ago and just wanted to know the driver also looked at me as if i was some idiot on the road when I'd like to think of myself as responsible thanks and opinions appreciated.
Reading this through a couple of times, I'd say that at some point in your looking back/ ahead, you missed the fact that the bus was approaching.

That's not to say that the driver was right in what he did (as you stated your side, I don't think he was), but sometimes even when you're in the right, you could be hurt... or worse.

Once you made the pass, you should have signaled and maneuvered back to the right as soon as it was practicable - as soon as you could safely do so - rather than waiting long enough to have him overtake you, passing on the right.