Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 74 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know I am fairly new to cycling (just about one year in), but I wanted to get some thoughts on giving a wave to say hello to fellow cyclists as we pass each other on our rides. I would say I wave hello about 99% of the time, with the exception of getting up a tough climb, where I feel like I am grabbing the bars for dear life. With that, I have noticed a decent amount of riders not giving a wave (or nod) when I do it. I do not take anything from it really and I know it's a totally personal thing.....just wondering what others thoughts may be? :hand:

·
Registered
79 Posts
I usually waive or nod. Nothing wrong with being friendly ;-) I don't take anything personal if the other cyclist doesn't nod or waive. You never know what their situation is.
Yep, and you never know if they actually noticed you in the first place. Some times you get in a zone and get tunnel vision to what's going on around you.

Don't obsess.

·
Registered
194 Posts
I know I am fairly new to cycling (just about one year in), but I wanted to get some thoughts on giving a wave to say hello to fellow cyclists as we pass each other on our rides. I would say I wave hello about 99% of the time, with the exception of getting up a tough climb, where I feel like I am grabbing the bars for dear life. With that, I have noticed a decent amount of riders not giving a wave (or nod) when I do it. I do not take anything from it really and I know it's a totally personal thing.....just wondering what others thoughts may be? :hand:
I often appear to get ignored in the same situation. My "wave" btw typically consists of me lifting my fingers of my left hand off the bars...

I figure either that people don't like my Primal Wear Pink Floyd Dark Side of the Moon cycling Jersey (which is my favorite one) or they are too busy admiring how buff my legs are to wave... :cool:

·
すし + Sweet Potato Kugel
5,846 Posts

·