Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

· Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, so I have lost 15 lbs. I really only need to lose *maybe* another 5-8. According to my body fat scale (which is not always the best) my body fat has dropped some, too. This is good, so I hear, since if it were to up, I would have lost muscle, vs. fat.

However, my cycling performance is suffering. I *did* start with a new coach last year and have changed a few things up (IE gear mashing to spinning, more interval training/zone training/base training). But, overall, my performance, in my opinion, SUCKS this year so far.

I know things can differ from year to year, but has anyone ever experienced something like this from weight loss? Is my power just gone? I eat healthy, do all the recovery stuff, etc. However, I am angry, disgusted, frustrated, and (sometimes) to the point of tears. I know I am not a pro or anything, but I have worked too hard for what I have earned to lose it.

I XC skied a bit more this year than last (since we had snow), so my aerobic capacity is great. The last LT test showed I *had* lost some power...but this is crazy. I do everything he says, and people who are older than I, who have changed little to nothing, have had a heart attack in early spring, and have changed as much stuff as I have are ALL doing better this year. Me? I stink, pretty much, right now.

I have told my coach that, whatever he is doing, it is not working. And, I am on the verge of firing him. However, before I do that, I really want to know if weight loss can significantly mess up athletic performance, or if anyone else has had a similar experience and, if they have, what have you done about it/what can I do/suggestions?! TIA!

· Formosan Cyclocross
3,380 Posts