Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, fellow carbon-based life forms. I've been lifting weights off and on for several years, though mostly off lately. I'm also a runner, and have been slowly getting back to the high level I was at before injuries slowed me down (and forced me to buy a bike!). After a recent bike ride, I was disappointed in how slow and fatigued I felt under hard effort (climbing, etc.), even tho I was running a decent amount of miles (cardio improving, starting to lose weight), and resolved to hit the gym again. After the first day of light squats, my legs were throbbing! Running and cycling were not firing the muscles I didn't know I had! After 3 or 4 lifting sessions, I hit the road today, and boy, what a difference. More power, less fatigue, much better climbing, faster recovery, more confidence. And I was only squatting 105#max. I plan on sticking with, and adding to, the squats, and starting deadlifts soon. I'm sure the gains will taper off eventually, but for now, I'm pretty stoked.

·
Banned
19,737 Posts
I credit my years of squats for being able to out climb a very large number of those wispy-leg guys during our local rides. There is nothing like waiting until the WLGs drop down a few gears, and then upshifting, getting out of the saddle, and hammering past them. Then as a plus, being 240lbs, I leave them in the dust on the downhill too.

Torque beats horsepower every day of the week :)

·
Registered
418 Posts
OP - I think it's great that you felt so good today, and I definitely am in favor of lifting weights as cross training.

However, I would strongly caution against making the connection that your weight lifting had that much dramatic effect on how you felt today. It's much more likely that you were simply a bit more rested. You haven't had enough weight lifting to make a difference yet

Reminds me....I need to hit the weights tonight

·
Registered
895 Posts