Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1,231 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well...knew it would happen eventually, took my first "clipless" fall today.

I started riding clipless last season. Outside of a few "that was close" moments, I managed to not take a tumble because of being locked in.

Until today.

I was riding through a small town and hit their "main street" intersection. I need to go left so I moved into the turn lane and slowed to stop (it was a red light). As usual, I un clipped with my R leg and began to tilt the bike to the R to shift my weight. As soon as I started this, a motorist pulled up right besides me (I was sitting in the far L side of the turn lane, he was immediately to my R). He was so close in fact that I had no room to lean so I instinctively shifted my weight L...still clipped in with the L leg.

Like most say, it happened pretty slowly with my thinking "Oh sh*t! I'm still clipped in!!" But it was too late, I tried to kick my leg out but down I went. I managed to do a strange fall and didn't completely bite it but I laid the bike down and took a knee.

All in all the damage was small, skinned knee, scraped my L shift/brake lever a bit and scraped my rear wheel skewer. Could have been worse.

I got up, embarrassed as all hell, and gained my composure. The light turned green shortly thereafter and the motorist quickly drove off without a word.

Oh well. I knew it would happen eventually, at least the price was small.

Anyone else have any good "first time fall" stories?

·
δanned
7,006 Posts
There are two types of cyclists: 1) those who fall when using clipless pedals 2) and those who lie about falling when using clipless pedals.

·
Registered
484 Posts
I always mix it up, as far as un-clipping my left and right foot so I don't become dependent on one side vs. the other. It keeps me a little more focused, especially when I unclip my left foot because I am way more comfortable unclipping my right foot.