Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Off the back.
102 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got my first road bike, a Spec. Roubaix Comp Double. I did a 21 mile ride yesterday at lunch to get a feel for the bike, handling, etc. So today I decided to head into the canyons here in Boulder, CO for a climbing session.

I've been riding these canyon roads for the last several months on my 29lb, nearly 6" travel Yeti 575 with big 2.35 tires on it. I've been steadily improving my times as my fitness has increased and my winter weight has started to drop.

But today I was suffering mightily trying to turn a 39x25 gear up these roads. The climb I was doing is about 4 miles long, average grade around 7-8% with some short sections in the 14% range. I never have to stop on my mountain bike, and usually climb in the middle ring (32x34). I had to stop about 1/2 way up the climb and take a breather as I just couldn't push that gear up the hill any more.

After the break, I got back on and ground my way up to my turnaround point, where I took a quick stop, had a drink and headed back to town with my tail between my legs. I figured I would need a compact crankset, but I didn't realized how bad I'd suffer. I'm going to give it a week or two and see how things "take" on the road bike, but I think I'm going to have to invest in a compact double to make these climbs. A humbling experience not being able to continuously climb this climb on my 18lb road bike when I can do it on my 29lb dual squish mountain bike. Gearing is certainly on my side in the mountain bike, but rolling resistance and weight sure aren't.

· Registered
43 Posts
SenorBlanco said:
I just got my first road bike, a Spec. Roubaix Comp Double. I did a 21 mile ride yesterday at lunch to get a feel for the bike, handling, etc. So today I decided to head into the canyons here in Boulder, CO for a climbing session.