Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
143 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am constantly amazed at the number of Italian lugged steel frames that appear on this site, and to some extent, on ebay. I admit I'm not an expert on frames by any means, but aside from the "big guys" there seems to be an endless supply of frames out of Italy from that era!

Are they all good frames, worth buying and riding, or were there any bad framemakers in Italy as well?

·
Devoid of all flim-flam
7,285 Posts
There were some horrifically bad cheap Bianchi bikes in the seventies. I remember my bicycle shop buddies laughing like loons about how the frames were so out of true they could never, ever get into certain gears, even after several several sessions with the wrench they dubbed the "gentle persuader." I seem to remember some rank-looking lower-end Atalas, too.

Being a total Italophile at the time, the sight of those frames made me reach for the antacids.

My 1973 Italvega Nuovo Record had some pretty severe workmanship lapses and share of cheapnesses, also. Things like lugs with random file marks and rough edges. Things like a two-piece bottom bracket welded together with what looks like an infected appendectomy scar. Lovely riding bike, though. I gave it to a buddy of mine back in the 1980's. Sometimes I even take it out myself.

·
Off the back
1,850 Posts
I think Torelli made some cheapo bikes, as well. Like Bianchi and maybe some other Italian manufacturers, they wanted to get some of the lower price points owned by Peugeot and Gitane.

Making low-end bikes probably gave the Italians ulcers.

·
Banned
952 Posts
fast ferd said:
I think Torelli made some cheapo bikes, as well. Like Bianchi and maybe some other Italian manufacturers, they wanted to get some of the lower price points owned by Peugeot and Gitane.

Making low-end bikes probably gave the Italians ulcers.

They still do.

·
What the Hell is going on
5,153 Posts
Miele?

ClassicSteel71 said: