Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to road biking, and want to get into fixed gears, I was planning on buying an old cheap road bike and converting it, but then I found this one on ebay, and it's a really good price. Even with shipping it's still cheaper than if I were to convert an old road bike. Just wondering if it's any good, I just want to use it for commuting, and exercise. The only thing I'm worried about is that it has no company that makes it, and I want to get something that will last.

Here's the link: http://cgi.ebay.ca/55cm-Track-Fixed...Z008QQcategoryZ159089QQtcZphotoQQcmdZViewItem

and I know that it ends really soon, but the ebay store has many many more

Thanks

· Registered
460 Posts
There's something in the picture I cannot tell for sure but just doesn't look right to me.

No head tube and seat tube angles?

The toptube for the first four sizes all starts with 53 cm, from 53 for a size 49 to a 53.75 for a size 58 with the size 61 at 54cm.

I personally prefer a steel (chromoly) frame and prices start at $350 for a complete bicycle.

For $300 I'll look elsewhere.

· Registered
8,116 Posts
Looks like garbage to me. None of the parts are branded, except the "promax" brakes. I don't know how they can build a fixed gear that is so heavy--- 22lbs. My beater conversion is under 18--- and I made no effort to build it light. Also, the geometry looks screwy on that bike--- a 58 with a 53.75 TT? Strange.

By the time you pay shipping, you could buy an entry level fixed gear at your LBS--- or a used bike on craigslist.

· Registered
8,116 Posts
I built a 17.5 lb bike out of a thrown away lugged steel frameset, a few hand-me-down parts, and scraps lying around.... and it has an excellent ride.

My point: I would much rather pay $350 for the parts to build up a nice vintage steel conversion than to buy a new anything.

MisterC said:
I was going to plug craigs list also.