Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
269 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So i work in the bike industry and the company I work for sells Grammo wheels. They are a New Zealand company that has wheels made for them in Taiwan. Pretty nice stuff. They are made in the factory that does a lot of wheel building for a ton of other more well known brands. Anyway, they were asking me about cross wheels and they pretty much gave me free reign. Coming in August we'll have an aluminum rim, cross tubular, complete wheel with external nipples and cartridge bearing hubs. It should retail for about $250 US. It's going to be 28h rear and 24h front. Lacing will be 3x rear and either radial or 2x front. I'm personally leaning towards 2x. Here's a few pics of the rim. It's the same rim used on the track wheel, so hubs and lacing will be different than in the pics, but you get the idea. sorry if this seems like Spam. It wasn't meant to be. I'm just pretty excited about getting to have this amount of input into a production component.

·
Registered
269 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Forgive my ignorance

But what's rein?

As soon as I have a set in my hands I'll throw them on the scale and get a real weight. I don't want to guess and be way off base. The protos should be here in a few weeks.

·
Number 2 on the course.
4,405 Posts
Veleno Ultra http://www.grammo-bici.it/index.php?pageid=6&product_id=45&brand_id=1?

750g F, 1050g R is not impressive, even if the tubular rim is a little lighter (and especially since the spoke count will be higher).

I agree with Pretender regarding deep rims and Al.

$250 for heavy rims and ??? hubs is not worth it IMO.

Edit: What's with the faux-Italian website?

·
Registered
269 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Don't go off of the weights