Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
681 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Nashbar Carbon Road Frame and Fork

$599, and then you get 20% off. That's $540 for a frame. It's Di2 ready.

Figure you can build it up with Ultegra Di2
Drivetrain: 1100
Headset: 50
Pedals: 60
Wheels: 400-800
Bars: 50
Stem: 50
Saddle: 75
Bar tape: 10
Tires: 70

Total: $2400-3000

What's the quality of these frames? I figure they must be at least as good as the Chinese Ebay frames, and if you have a problem, you can at least send it back to Nashbar.

·
Banned
3,297 Posts
That frame + fork costs about what my Vienamese evniable fork costs alone. I say you can't go wrong. I've been buying stuff from Nashbar since the mid 1980s. They are a reputable joint. Supposedly they will take anything back without question.

·
Registered
2,580 Posts
I've never owned one, but I've been tempted to try this very thing.

I think you would get a perfectly serviceable frame that is safe to ride.

What you probably won't get is any kind of specific engineering to make the frame more rigid in the chassis and compliant for the rider (that sort of stuff).

They do have a great return policy if it doesn't end up meeting you satisfaction. The worst case scenario is you hate it, get a refund, and put the money towards something else to pin your components on.

·
Registered
681 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I'm currently building up a used Tarmac SL4 frame that I got on eBay for $1k. For an extra $350, I think that the looks and engineering are probably worth it, even if it is used.

I don't think that a carbon frame under normal conditions really fatigues, so I'm not concerned about age or miles.