Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
19,389 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the fixed speed world and have been ridign a new Langster for a few weeks now with a stock 48/16 ratio. problem is my commute and daily training involves a LOT of hill climbing....would an 18 be more beneficial or should I go bigger?
I'm sure there have been posts on this, but a quick search didn't produce much...

·
Done with winter.
2,635 Posts
This isn't a direct answer to your question but this is more a matter of personal preference and length/grade of hills climbed. Use your road bike for comparison, find out the gear inch of various combinations and try your commute without shifting. Decide which one works best for you and match the gear inch measurement to a cog/chain ring combo.

That said, you'll see a lot of commuter fixed riders find 70 gear inches to be a sweet spot. Typical set up is 42x16.

·
100% torqued
766 Posts
Skid mark Homer rocks.

It is a personal thing. Most of the guys I know run 42x16, 48x18, for general stuff, I like 44x17 with 35c tires. Bigger tires make the wheel bigger which ups the gear inches. I run I think 72.5 or something. Just feel right.

·
Registered
213 Posts
i don't think there is a right answer.....