Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, i just wondered if anyone could shed any light on what kind of gear ratios that the pros use in the mountains. Do they use a 39-tooth front cog or something smaller for those big climbs?

Any info would be appreciated, I am just getting into road biking, more of a MTB rider normally, and was a little surprised at the gear ratios on the road bike i just bought.

:eek:)

·
Banned
6,360 Posts
When Lemond was here....

Don't know about the TdF, but Greg Lemond grew up around here and after his first or second Tour win, he ran a cycling camp in the Sierra foothills. I'm pretty sure this was back when the standard chainrings were 52-42, and in the literature they sent out to prospective customers, they urged to gear low in the back. Can't remember exactly how it was phrased, but it was something to the effect that you shouldn't put on your straight block and come up here expecting to impress the pros with your strength: "It's important to be able to turn the big gears, but it's more important to be able to turn them for a long time. Greg uses a 26."
I've climbed the same hills, and I use a 26, too. In front, to mate with my 30-tooth big cog in back....
As for the gearing on your road bike, a lot of people think off-the-rack road bikes are unrealistically geared for non-elite cyclists. There just aren't that many people who need a 53-11. I've put triples on my last two road bikes, and I'll never go back. I'd rather people see me riding in the granny than walking next to the bike...

·
Banned
4,302 Posts
smolenice said:
Hi, i just wondered if anyone could shed any light on what kind of gear ratios that the pros use in the mountains. Do they use a 39-tooth front cog or something smaller for those big climbs?