Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

· Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Gentlefolk;

I have looked at all the pix here, and all the bikes seem bereft of kick stands. I have had to order one special for my Cadent -- I wudda thought that kick stands would be tossed in as part of the package.

Are kick stands a "Fred" thing? I don't see how one props up a bike without one.

(Yeah, I realize here that there is no NEED to prop up a bike since all bikes here are always moving under their humans...)

Don

· Registered
620 Posts
Campagnolo now has...

...a 12 ounce, carbon fiber kick stand available for $500. Just kidding! Besides being decidedly non-aero, they add weight. Also, I have yet to see a bike that did not fall over, at least once, when propped up with a kick stand...

:D

· Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hmmm.. .I ordered the iridium-titanium kickstand for my bike for $375 -- couldn't justify the C/F extra bucks... but then Im a newbie. It DOES have aero wings on it to keep the rear wheel in closer contact to the pavement. I think that may help.

· Premium Member
15,996 Posts
Not for road bikes

You're right, few bikes come with kickstands these days. Some cruisers, comfort bikes, etc do -- and for a city bike, they are really great!

On a taller, skinnier, faster road bike, though, they are not of much use, and often downright dangerous. You can accidentally deploy it over a bump or with your heel and cause a crash.

I would suspect some of the reason many manufacturers do not include them OEM is to shield them from any potential liability, should the above happen.

· Registered
14,776 Posts
Argentius said:
I would suspect some of the reason many manufacturers do not include them OEM is to shield them from any potential liability, should the above happen.
Nah, Cadent guessed right: it's the Fred factor.

· What the what???
12,986 Posts