Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Back story:

Im 6'1 very flexable but have injured my back and am now in recovery mode.

I have been racing mountain bikes for 10 years and currently ride a 21" S-Works SJ 29er that fits amazing.

I plan to use the bike for training not racing. But thought I would drop the stem all the way down on the Roubaix.

Current setup:
Axle to seat measurement is 38.5" or 97.79cm and seat nose to center of stem is 25" or 63.5cm

I've ridden what bikes I can find tarmac and roubaix from last year.

So 58 or 61?

·
3,494 Posts
sixteenstone96 said:
Axle to seat measurement is 38.5" or 97.79cm and seat nose to center of stem is 25" or 63.5cm
Is this pedal axle to top of saddle (presumably with crank down and parallel to seat tube)? A more usual measurement would be bottom bracket (center) to top of saddle. It's easy to convert by subtracting the crank length, eg. 175mm. More importantly, how much vertical drop from saddle top to handlebar center are you aiming for?

sixteenstone96 said:
So 58 or 61?
The 61 Roubaix is a huge bike with a very long head tube. The reason to buy the 61 would be to get the handlebars up high to minimize drop, and maybe that's what you want because of your back issue. The downside is that the top tube is also longer, and you may well end up with a reach problem requiring a short stem. Also the wheel base is getting pretty long which adds stability but affects handling (in my experience anyway).

What did the LBS say?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
yes pedal axle to seat top measurement, i've always hated the bb to seat measurement because the last road bike I had (colnago c-40 61cm) it came with 177.5 cranks throwing off that measurement.

LBS = i look / feel huge on the 58 meaning it felt small and the 61cm felt a touch big but i had street clothes on, so it could be ok.

·
3,494 Posts