Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey i'm new to road cycling but not to biking but have been inactive for about 4 months and got my first road bike about a week ago, so far i've been biking an hour to 2 hours everyday but have not seen a great increase in energy as I have from of activities, I am overwhelmed by the whole world of supplements and vitamins but wanted to know what would be a good source on information about basic beginning nutrition and training routines.

·
Dr. Flats a lot
742 Posts
Save your money

There are some key elements to performance. A high carb diet is a major cornerstone, both on and off the bike. Proper hydration, electrolyte repletion and a well balanced diet will be key to performance and recovery. There is a lot more out there. You'll hear reams of information about personal experiences, specific product claims, a lot of advertisments being mislabeled as science and a entire industry aimed at getting your money. You'll do best by keeping a sports drink in your bottles, some carbs in your back pocket and healthy food in your fridge. Keep control over your calories, weight is a huge deal in going fast.
The vitamins and supplements are generally a scam. Save your money. If you want to feel an increase in energy have a cup of coffee. There is tons of data supporting low doses of caffeine increasing performance. You'll prob do better by getting some gels with caffeine than putting Starbucks in your water bottle.
You've been riding for a week. Don't expect great leaps.
Clinics in Sports Medicine had a great review of all the different supplements out there and the available medical data to support them as well as the known side effects and risks. Pretty scary risks and not a lot of benefit. There was some interesting stuff with branched chain amino acids and manganese. But with a balanced diet you'll get all you need.

·
Registered
5,358 Posts