Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, it's me again. Since I am just starting out and new to cycling, how should I be riding? Should I ride fewer miles, but steady pace? More miles, but at a comfortable pace? Or should I just get on my bike and see where and how far the day takes me?

[email protected]

·
Scary Teddy Bear
14,791 Posts
Well

jessica47201 said:
Hello, it's me again. Since I am just starting out and new to cycling, how should I be riding? Should I ride fewer miles, but steady pace? More miles, but at a comfortable pace? Or should I just get on my bike and see where and how far the day takes me?

[email protected]

As a relative newcomer myself, I think you should build up base miles, now is the perfect time of year, and this involves lots of riding at a tolerable pace, to build up your aerobic base. I would vote for more miles at a comfortable pace, then you can work on strenghtening and intervals....

·
Registered
1,800 Posts
All of the above

You should do all those kinds of rides, fast (for you), slow, hilly, flat, long, short, fun, workout. When you've done them all, you'll know which you prefer.

I don't know what's up with your knee, but the other advice I would give you is to focus on learning to ride at a high pedaling cadence, by which I mean around 90 or so pedal revolutions per minute. I believe many people find that this is easier on the knees. I know I do. Many bike computers include a cadence function so you can keep track of your cadence.

But really, the most important thing is finding a (safe) way to ride that satisfies you.

Welcome, and good luck.

·
Apa kabar?
269 Posts
set goals