Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 139 Posts

·
Registered
181 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, as a total newbie, still riding a mountain bike with drop ends :mad2: I'm looking around to get an idea of what's out there.
Let's say you had a 200$ budget (only for the bike, leave everything else out) (and I know your wheels probably cost more than that, but hey, we do what we can), which route would you go?
1 - Superbudget roadbike, thinking a base Vilano in this case, or maybe a Denali bike?? (Please take it easy on me)
2 - older better bike, talking around 10 years older, I see some Cannondales in the 200$ range, might need minor work, and even if I don't know much about bike, I can handle mechanical work on my Harley and even car, so I could probably do most of it myself
3 - Go vintage. I saw a few 80s Schwinns that fit, especially a super sweet 83 Schwinn Le Tour 27 locally for under 200$, all original minus the tires.

Opened to other options as well, unfortunately this is the situation at the moment. I am a "weekend" rider, might start going out on a daily basis, but it would always be for short rides, maybe an hour a day only for fun/exercise.

Not sure this matters, but I'm at 184lbs and I'm 511.

Thank you all!!

·
Neophyte
2,190 Posts
For very low budget, option #2 is the best IMO. However, you really should scrimp and save and up that budget a couple hundred bucks. Then at ~$500 you could actually end up with quite a bit of bike from 10 years ago that will still be a great bike. Say you end up with Ultegra 6600 or something on it, smooth shifting stuff.

Back in 2011, I got a 2007 bike with Dura-Ace 7800 for about $700-800. Used deals are out there.

·
Registered
5,705 Posts