Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
15,996 Posts
It really depends -- how much riding experience do you have? Is this your first roadbike?

The simple answer is more than 5 minutes around the parking lot. 30-45 minutes should be good, especially if there's a hill to ascend and some sharp corners to take. Miles? I'm going to pull "5 to 10" out of thin air.

If it's your FIRST first serious bike, and you're doing it in sneakers, platform pedals, and reg'lar shorts, it'll be really hard to tell much more than "wow, this is so much faster than (some cheap hybrid)!"

The catch-22 is that you should test before you ride, but that an absolute beginner probably won't know what "right" feels like. Developing a good relationship with a shop you buy the bike from is crucial, (or just learning to wrench and scour eBay).

If the stem is the wrong length, the saddle not quite right, the seatpost needs more setback, or whatever, it may not be obvious until a week later when something is sore. You may stretch out and need to take out a spacer, find your lower back is sore, whatever. As Zinn said, it's a marriage between a "machine that is somewhat adjustable and a body that is somewhat adaptable."

If you're a male in the average size range, say, 5'8" to 6'1", it should be pretty easy. For a very small or very tall rider, it becomes more complicated.

Let us know how it goes!

·
I am not aero
304 Posts
Depends of course

I've come to the conclusion that test rides are overrated for new cyclists so long as the bike is in the ballpark size-wise. When I first started, any test ride would have told me nothing since I didn't know what I was expecting. Newbies are probably better off going to a reputable shop and having them make a recommendation.

Now that I've been riding a while though, I think five or ten miles would do it. Many things I can tell in just a few miles (overall reach, seat to bar drop), some others take longer (seat tube angle).

·