Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
abominable slowman
1,072 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ever since I started biking I've been envious of those who bike to work. When I lived back east, my commutes were too long for regular bike-commuting (though I did start to do a combo car/bike commute sometimes). And now, out in Colorado, I'm an independent consultant and I work from home. No commute. But I do use my bike to "commute" to meetings, to run errands, to go out to dinner etc. Today I had to run a few errands and brought the camera along.

I use my trusty Gunnar Crosshairs most of the time and, depending on what I need to do, either a small backpack or my Ortlied panniers. Today it was the panniers.

Usually wear my MTB shoes

Fort Collins is very bike-friendly town. Bike lanes, bike paths, and friendly drivers are the norm.

Approaching the Post Office and navigating a busy intersection

Almost every shopping center, office building, restaurant, bar etc has a good bike rack. Only one place that I can think of doesn't have one.

The one busy road I had to ride today...it took me from the bank to the farmers market. It has a wide bike lane.

Our tiny little farmers market

Occasionally you get a glimpse of the high peaks of the Rocky Mountains, Longs Peak and Mount Meeker in this case.

To go home I cut through a residential area to reach a bike path

Trail art

On the bikes paths, most of the intersections with roads have dedicated signals for cyclist to cross--push a button and the car traffic gets a flashing light to yield to cylcists/pedestrians. And most people obey it.

Today's haul: fresh peaches, raspberries, and Starbucks coffee

I carry my garage door opener when I ride :D

Home sweet home...still getting organized after moving in just a month ago.

·
Burnum Upus Quadricepus
2,017 Posts
llama31 said:
Occasionally you get a glimpse of the high peaks of the Rocky Mountains, Longs Peak and Mount Meeker in this case.