Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
9,079 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I started riding a little over a year ago at the ripe age of 63. Primary goals: Lose weight, improve overall conditioning, and of course for fun.

When I started riding, I weighed 180 pounds (small, 5’6” frame) and it didn’t take long to take off 15 pounds – taking me to 165. It is from that point to my ultimate goal weight of 150 pounds where difficulty has set in. I did get to 155, then there was the holiday season with well intention friends shoving various deserts at me.

Since then, I have resumed my “normal” ride routine – rides range from 30 to 45 with an occasional 60 thrown in – at average speeds of from 14.4 to 15.0. Rides are on the average 3 per week. What has not resumed is weight loss. I am stuck on 159 to 163.

So that’s my first question. Assuming that I watch my caloric intake, why would I not lose even a little?

Second – not quite on point, but one of interest to me. Taking into account my age, and the fact that I rode a large metal desk for 30 years, are my riding distances and average mph about where I should be? I use a heart rate monitor and find it very difficult to get up to the minimum training range. The reason for this is not that my heart is in such great condition – but my legs tend to give out before I can get into mid training range.

·
Registered
21,636 Posts
Some issues