Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to riding and have an Apex group. I'm thinking of upgrading. What is the difference between the Apex,Rival, and Force FD,RD, and shifters?

·
'brifter' is f'ing stupid
15,663 Posts
SRAM has this thing called a 'website' and it's divided up into different sections. oddly enough in the road section there are different pages that will give you all the information you could ever want about their different levels of parts. it's really quite amazing.
the clif notes version goes like this:
starting at Apex and going up the materials get lighter. the method of shifting is the same. 'zero loss' shifting (read about on the site) is added as you go up the line.

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thank you cx, your sarcasm was much appreciated. I assumed Apex,Rival,and Force were mechanically pretty much the same,just lighter materials used ,until you get to Red. i was hoping someone had some real world experience not just a smart a$$ response for a newbee.

·
'brifter' is f'ing stupid
15,663 Posts
Thank you cx, your sarcasm was much appreciated. I assumed Apex,Rival,and Force were mechanically pretty much the same,just lighter materials used ,until you get to Red. i was hoping someone had some real world experience not just a smart a$$ response for a newbee.
To make up for my response, how about this...
Rear derailleurs: zero performance difference.
Front derailleurs: zero performance difference. Small weight differences due to materials.
Shifters: Apex has alloy brake lever, alloy shift paddle. Rival has carbon brake lever, alloy shift paddle. Force has carbon brake lever, magnesium shift paddle. Same mechanism. All have independent reach adjust for brake lever and shift paddle.

·
Registered
178 Posts