Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
521 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so i'm new to this and I don't mean any disrespect but i've been riding MT bikes for a long time and was wondering why is it that everyone on a road bike HAS TO wear bike shorts. I'm sure there's a perfectly good explanation and I'm only asking because i'm seeking an alternative cause quite honestly not everyone should wear skin tight clothing.

Also shoes, does it matter what you wear or do people buy the specialized shoes so they can match their entire outfit?

Thanks

·
Registered
223 Posts
Just ride. But if you ride for a few hours, you will quickly learn why roadies wear those silly shorts---they really do make a difference in how you feel afterwards. Remember that a lot of us ride for 3, 4 or even 6 or 8 hours. In those conditions, you really want to limit the chafe. That's what the shorts do. They do make some that are baggy...but those are not so aero. If you are riding at 15 mph, it doesn't make much of a difference, Today I was hitting 40 downhill, and there was a crosswind. In that situation, I really don't want any more turbulence than I need.

As for shoes...I wear SPD MTB shoes so that I can walk like a normal person when I get off the bike. And I ride a Bianchi. My clothes never match my bike.

PW

·
Registered
540 Posts
You don't NEED cycling shorts. But if you ever ride for over 30 minutes, you'll be wishing you had. They help get rid of chafing, and pain while riding for long (or short) periods of time. And the reason people often wear expensive shoes is because if it hurts to push on the pedal, what are you not going to want to do?

·
Registered
521 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·