Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was just wondering what people do for a normal weekly training routine. I'm new to road biking but I am in pretty good physical condition as a former runner and swimmer. Right now, I'm doing 1 hour rides at an average of 30km/h, 3 times a week.

I plan on starting something like the following:

Short Interval
  • 20 min. warm up
  • 5 sets of 1 min. sprinting and 3 min. recovery spinning
  • 5 sets of 1.5 min. sprinting and 3 min. recovery spinning
  • 15 min. cool down

Long Interval
  • 20 min. warm up
  • 2 sets of 3 min. sprinting and 3 min. recovery spinning
  • 2 sets of 5 min. sprinting and 5 min. recovery spinning
  • 15 min. cool down

Distance Rides
Maintain velocity of 30km/h and increase distance by ~10% per week.

Sunday - Short Interval
Monday - Rest or moderate ride
Tuesday - Long Interval
Wednesday - Rest or moderate ride
Thursday - Distance ride
Friday - Distance ride
Saturday - Rest

So, what to you typically do and what do you think of the above?

·
Registered
70 Posts
Too much recovery

I think that your plan is ok, but you have too much recovery. You should only have a 1:1 work:recovery ratio if you are literally going 100%, which should only be 1 to 1.5 minutes anyway. For the longer intervals, I would suggest doing them at "race pace" or "tempo." They are in quotes, because those two things mean different things to different people. I would say that they are about 80-85% of max or about aerobic threshold. In other words, you should be breathing hard and suffering somewhat, but able to keep going. You should do the 5 min tempo with only 1-2 min recovery. This will eventually teach you body to deal with less recovery and to recover faster. The 1 min max effort, sprinting, efforts should have a 1 min recovery. Just a suggestion though. Plus you'll be able to fit in more intervals, which is good.