Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
239 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a Trek 1.1 bike that I've been riding for 3 years. I was interested in purchasing wheels, cassette and cyclocross/gravel tires to use on local rail trails in my area. I've noticed quite a few riders riding these trails with road bikes.

If I bought a wheelset with 19mm wide rims (which I assume is the width on my Trek's wheels) and 700 x 35m gravel tires along with Shimano 8-speed cassette, 12-25T, to install on rear wheel.... would it be compatible with the current rim brakes on the Trek 1.1? Or would the 35mm tires be too wide to fit between brake apparatus when installing or removing tires? I'd like to be able to easily switch out a tire set for either gravel path use or road use without having to adjust rim brakes.

Sorry if this is a noob question.

·
Registered
9,658 Posts
While I don't know for fact, I did just google some pictures of Trek 1.1 and am pretty confident saying there's no way you're be able to fit 35mm tires in that frame/fork.

Depending how smooth the gravel is and how heavy you are you may not really need tires that big though.

·
Registered
239 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
While I don't know for fact, I did just google some pictures of Trek 1.1 and am pretty confident saying there's no way you're be able to fit 35mm tires in that frame/fork.

Depending how smooth the gravel is and how heavy you are you may not really need tires that big though.
Gravel is smooth and I'm only 160lbs. Maybe a 28mm gravel tire would fit?

·
Registered
7,492 Posts
So did I.