Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a novice and have some questions for you more experienced racers. I've started base since last week of December and wondering when to start the intervals. Last year was my first year racing and I started base way too late in February. I basically jumped in to racing in mid April without doing any interval type workouts, which was a mistake. I finished the 30 mile race but 27 of it was lonely miles. I hope to do a little better at starting this year. Training races starts here in mid March and real races starts in beginning of April. Should I start the intervals couple weeks prior to the training races? Also how do you fit intervals during the racing season? I participated in local Tuesday night group training rides that were sometimes more difficult then my races, so I hardly did any intervals even during the season. Please help me to get a clue. I am still pretty clueless about preseason training or even what to do during the season. I've entered 12 races last year and first five or six I didn't finish with a pack and the last half of the races, I was barely hanging on at the end of the races. Would you please give some advice? About anything? I'd appreciated.

·
Registered
491 Posts
now

I started intervals in October. You should start intervals ASAP. Riding long and slow is going to make you good at exactly that. When I first started racing, I used to ride tons of miles, do periodization, etc., and got blown away in races.

I think "base," in the sense that it is the foundation for high intensity training later, is the riding you do to get from couch potato to being strong enough to do intervals without undue suffering. Once you're there, you never need to do it again unless you completely detrain.