Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
how far were you going (distance)? My typical loop right now is 7 to 8 miles. I want to start building toward 10 and then eventually 15 to 20. However, I was wondering how quickly to increase mileage, etc. Remember, I'm a beginner and haven't ever ridden before this summer. I'm also just coming off of knee surgery, so I am enjoying the exercise but am feeling like a fat piece of $hit! (5'9" 189, typically about 183)!!

·
Registered
960 Posts
Sounds like you're ready for a "survival ride".
Next week, do your normal 7 to 8 mile loop.... Then on the weekend, throw in a 25 miler, don't time yourself, don't worry about avg. speeds, just ride it, and finish... Of course, take your knee into account and don't MASH the pedals the whole ride.

The next time you ride the 8 mile loop, you'll wonder if you should do it twice.

·
Registered
8 Posts
I started about 1.5 months ago and thought 6 miles was huge. Then I took a wrong turn and road 12 miles. I was tired but I lived. After about 2 weeks I mapped out a nice long route (long to me anyways) of 20 miles. The road was fairly flat and had plenty of places to turn round if I thought 20 would be too much. Then a few weeks after that I tried a thirty mile ride. Like sprocket said don't rush yourself just pedal along. My first 30 mile ride averaged bout 15mph solo. Next week I'm going to try a 40 and see how that goes.

·
Registered
64 Posts
Where I live, the country blocks are about 5 mile squares. I had plenty of different, but shorter options. I don't know how it is where you live, but if you knew of a nearby shorter route, you could always tack that on to your regular ride to taper up to more distance. That being said, a nice long ride thrown in there can be good too.

Thats similar to the Long Slow Distance training theory for runners. Just keep pedaling!

·
scruffy nerf herder
4,484 Posts